18.2LTS 4DWP bug and related question

Just ran into a really strange bug (as I was trying to get my head around WritePro for the first time). The following code:

ST INSERT EXPRESSION(*;"WPareaReceipt";[ReceptLetters]Name;ST Start highlight;ST End highlight)

causes the Project Method ‘Test’ to run when the [ReceptLetters]Name field contains the value “Test”.

It took me a few minutes to realize what was happening because I had an import routine loaded into the “Test” method and at first thought that 4D was grabbing a method from a deleted table and executing it.

Question about 4D WritePro. I’m NEW to using it, and cannot (under any circumstances) get any of the items under the Insert and View tab to insert anything into the document (Insert date, Insert time, Insert 4D expression all do absolutely nothing). I have Show References turned on for the doc, so must be missing something very fundamental. Is there an example DB or blog post somewhere that shows how to do a simple mail merge style template? I need the user to create a receipt letter that merges with selected data, but can’t seem to get even basic field references to embed in the doc. Does 4DWP even work with ORDA?

Hi John,

Have you tried toggling the “Show/Hide Expression” button (its the toolbar icon that looks like [ ]. When you inserted a field, the value will be appear only when a record is loaded and the field contains a value. Looking at your example, you were attempting to insert a value from a field. May be empty value or no loaded record was the problem.

HTH,
Add

As for ORDA, you cannot insert an entity attribute (field) as an expression like you could with the field reference. For example:

The following are allowed

// Insert a field as a computable expression
ST INSERT EXPRESSION(*;"WParea";"[ReceptLetters]Name";ST Start highlight;ST End highlight)

or

// Insert the current value of a field
ST INSERT EXPRESSION(*;"WParea";[ReceptLetters]Name;ST Start highlight;ST End highlight)

or