Anyone using VERIFY DATA FILE or VERIFY CURRENT DATA FILE?

VERIFY DATA FILE and VERIFY CURRENT DATA FILE have been around since v14. Is anyone using these commands in their solutions? We’d like to automate some of our maintenance procedures and need some guidance. We’re curious about implementation. Is there an example of how we might use the Callback method? Call Form? for updates?

We started to experiment with this about a year or so ago and got stuck. Now with some slack time in our feature delivery, we are revisiting some old “nice to have” options.

Product :4D - 4D Server

Hi Ed,

I’ve been using this for several years now. Very nice to have. I don’t have the code in front of me, but basically each server runs VERIFY CURRENT DATA FILE every night. The callbacks are used to gather warnings and errors. When it is finished and if there are any issues, the server automatically notifies me so I can take action. It also sends the info from the callbacks so I have an immediate idea of the severity of the issue. Well worth doing, in my opinion!

HTH.

I’m not sure to understand:

<https://livedoc.4d.com/4D-Language-Reference-17-R4/4D-Environment/VERI
Y-DATA-FILE.301-4054754.en.html>https://livedoc.4d.com/4D-Language-Refe
ence-17-R4/4D-Environment/VERIFY-DATA-FILE.301-4054754.en.html>

To verify both the records and the indexes, pass the total of Verify
Records+Verify Indexes. The value 0 (zero) can also be used to obtain
the same result. The Verify All option carries out complete internal
verification. This verification is compatible with the creation of a
log.

Verify all = 16
Verify indexes = 8 + Verify records = 4 (it means all) = 12

Manual writes: The value 0 (zero) can also be used to obtain the same result.

I understand that to achieve the same job, we can pass 16 or 12 or 0!

Just remember that running a verify on an opened database is different than on a closed one.